European Slampionship


When? December 8th – 12th
Where? Brussels, Belgium

EN // Buckle up for the EUNIC – WPSO Euro Poetry Slam on Friday December 10th, 2021.
The live verbal boxing match of the year, with words as hard as hell and sneers as smooth as silk.
You decide who wins the title as EUNIC – WPSO Euro Poetry Slam 2021.
Shout, clap and wistle your favorite to the top.
Europe’s finest, don’t miss out!

A collaboration between WPSO, EUNIC Brussels, Willemsfonds BHG, ccJF, MAXlab, AP University college Antwerp, midis de la poésie, SpeakEasy Brussels, Creatief Schrijven, GC Pianofabriek and the organisers of the European national championships

NL // Verwacht je op 10 december 2021 aan een zondvloed van woorden tijdens de EUNIC – WPSO Euro Poetry Slam. Met zowel mokerende woordslagen en venijnige zinssteken!
Jij stemt wie kampioen wordt en de titel EUNIC – WPSO Euro Poetry Slam 2021 krijgt.
Kom je favoriete kandidaat naar de overwinning schreeuwen, klappen en fluiten.
Europe’s finest. Mis ze niet!

Fr // Le Championnat Européen de Slam Poésie (EUNIC – WPSO Euro Poetry Slam), est un flux de paroles, comme des coups de boxe ou des piqûres de guêpe. Venez votez pour le candidat qui passeras au round suivant, vous déciderez qui portera le titre de Champion Européen 2021. Venez crier, applaudir ou encore siffler pour votre candidat préféré.
Les meilleurs de l’Europe, il ne faut pas les rater!


The championship took place in November 2018 in Hungary. The Belgian Champion REQ, Nathan Jonx, won the Audience Award. Hungarian slammer Peter Molnar took first place.

Photo by Bokor Krisztián

You can find pictures of the finals here. You can find videos of the finals here.



The Belgian Champion Lisette Ma Neza became second and Frej Haar from Sweden is officially the best slammer of Europe 2017. Frej Haar is a 20-year-old Danish-Swedish spoken word poet with roots in trans activism, heritage studies and music. Often based on their own experiences, Frej plays with subjects like gender, biology, climate change, religion, mental illness and politics.

15 Sweden Frej Haar picture by Patrik Petroff


Carmien Michels, born in Belgium but the Dutch Slampion of 2016, became the new European Champion 2016. The Belgian Champion, Giovanni Centola, ended at the fifth spot at the European Championship.
26-year-old Carmien Michels, a degree holder of the programme Woordkunst (“Word-Art”) of the Koninklijk Conservatorium of Antwerp. Between publishing her first works in book-form, did she always also enter and conquer the stages of the Netherlands, Belgium and where else it took her on her journey. She participated in the Poetry Slam World Championship and came back home with a bronze medal!
THE NETHERLANDS - Carmien Michels

You can find the pictures of the EC Poetry Slam 2016 on our Facebook page or on our Flickr account.

We also made a small video. As you can see in the following video, you missed out on something if you weren’t there! We hope to see you this year the 2nd of December in cc Jacques Franck in Brussels.


Simon Raket, the Belgian Champion, won silver. Nuno Piteira, from Portugal, is the European Champion Poetry Slam 2015.




Zygimantas Mesijus Kudirka from Lithuania won the European Slampionship on the 28th of November. Zyggi is copywriter, Slam Poetry performer and avant-garde rapper. Jakbrol, the Belgian Slam Champion, finished seventh.



The European Championship Poetry Slam 2012 was held in Antwerp, Belgium. Dani Orviz from Spain was the European Poetry Slam Champion 2012. The Belgian Youness candidate came second. The British Stephanie Dogfoot won the bronze.